//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

RAT Memories

By Sarah Hudson
Fashion Columnist

Past Wesleyannes were asked to describe their RAT experiences. This is what they had to say:

Pirate ‘93
“I made wonderful, lifelong friendships through RAT. At our life ceremony I felt as though I was truly a part of the sisterhood tradition. I am not sure that we would have become the class of women that we did with that bonding experience. And we are an awesome bunch of women! I made wonderful, lifelong friendships through RAT. At our life ceremony I felt as though I was truly a part of the sisterhood tradition. I am not sure that we would have become the class of women that we did with that bonding experience. And we are an awesome bunch of women!”

Green Knight ‘84
“My perspective on RAT was wonderful. Without RAT, I don’t think we would have bonded in the sisterhood.”

Purple Knight ‘90
“Being from a small town and away from home for the first time, RAT was a shock to me. I admit that it did bond our class together, but I mainly remember thinking “wow, this is NOT what i expected college to be like.” I also got the feeling that there were certain Ratters who enjoyed it a little too much. I’m probably in the extreme minority, but I’m not sorry to see it go.”

Golden Heart ‘99
“We were one of the last classes to have RAT and even though I was sick a portion of the weekend, I had such a wonderful time getting to know my classmates and the PK’s of ‘98. After they stopped calling it RAT and it was like RAT-ultra light, it wasn’t the same.”

Golden Heart ‘91
“Wesleyan is about tradition. And, in my opinion, the tradition of RAT should never have been diluted. The whole premise for RAT is to create an environment whereby the class is commanded to form a team, experience the events (even if they are uncomfortable) as a team and go through the traditions as a team…thereby forming your class bond. I actually feel bad for those classes after the Tri-K’s ’93 (our little sisters) when they retired many of the RAT events. I am sure those classes after that time have found other ways to bond…but I would not trade my experience with RAT with anything! It wasn’t until RAT that the GH class of ’91 bonded! Plus, we bonded with the PK’s ’90! As I think about it, RAT also allowed us to be pampered by our big sister class…which in turn gave us the right foundation to be big sisters ourselves! Now that is a sisterhood circle of goodness! I will never forget those special times with those who would later become the best friends of my life. I have to add…even today when one of us is “down” or experiencing a “life event,” one phone call turns into a chain of contacts and, as if on instinct, we round up the troops to support our sister in need!”

Purple Knight ‘94
“Yes, I made friends because of the RAT experience, but I think there are wonderful – positive – challenging ways to build bonds of sisterhood and friendship that have far greater value and forge much deeper bonds than a weekend of pranks, screaming, and sleep deprivation.”

Green Knight ‘92
“I loved RAT! Truly I think it was harder on the Ratters than the Rats. I’m sure we would have eventually bonded as a class, but Rat made us form quicker as a class, then again sophomore year. It is shame that it is not the same.”

Tri-K ‘93
“I loved RAT. You love something much more when you sacrifice for it. Getting up in the wee hours of the morning, physical challenges, and don’t forget how much about Wesleyan history we learned (and were forced to recite). I have very vivid memories of my RAT experience and am lifelong friends with many of those girls still today.”

Purple Knight ‘94
“Looking back I really loved RAT. I made great friend not even with my class but also my RATTER’s and the next year my RATS. But being a RATTER is harder and a lot more time involved. about my personal RAT/RATTER times.”

About wesleyanword

The Wesleyan Word is the official student newspaper of Wesleyan College. Operated and produced by students, The Word is printed twice per month during the fall and spring semesters. Online editions are released every Wednesday throughout the school year. Wesleyan College is a 4-year private residential college for women in Macon, Georgia. Established in 1836, Wesleyan College is the first college in the world to charter degrees to women.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

archives

Twitter

